Read FAQ
NEW
Bitrix24 Support
Registration and Authentication
How to start
My Profile
Feed
Messenger
Calendar
Bitrix24.Docs
Bitrix24.Drive
Bitrix24.Mail
Workgroups
CoPilot - AI in Bitrix24
Tasks and Projects
CRM
Contact Center
Sales Center
CRM Analytics (beta)
BI Builder
Sales Intelligence
Inventory Management
Marketing
Sites
Online Store (beta)
CRM + Online Store
CRM Store (beta)
Bitrix24.Sign
e-Signature for HR
Company
Knowledge base (beta)
Automation
Workflows
Telephony
Market
Subscription
Settings
Enterprise
Desktop App
General questions
Bitrix24 On-Premise

Bitrix24Care

Lock documents while editing

You will learn what you need to do to prevent coworkers from editing a document at the same time as you:

Locking a document on Drive works under two conditions:

  • if the Allow to lock document while editing option is enabled.
  • if employees work with documents in the cloud services: Google Docs or MS Office.

    Work with Bitrix24 Drive documents


Enable locking option in the account settings

This can only be done by an account administrator.

  1. Go to the account Settings.
  2. Select the Communications tab - Drive section - enable the Lock document while editing option.
  3. Save the settings.

Lock document while editing

Go to the Drive section, click on the file and select the Lock option on the menu panel.

The locked file will be marked with a special icon. Only the person who locked the file will be able to edit it.


How the locked document is displayed

Employees who have access to the locked file will be able to open, view and download it.

File preview in Bitrix24: quick access and possible actions

When another users try to edit the document, they will see a notification that the file is locked.

If a document has been locked while being edited by another employee, the user will receive a notification that the document has not been saved.

Changes that the user has made to the document will be saved in a new file. It will be available on the personal drive in the Stored Files folder.


In brief

  • You can enable document locking option to prevent colleagues from making edits at the same time as you.

  • You can lock documents if the Allow to lock document while editing option is enabled.

  • The locking option only works when editing documents in the cloud services.

  • Only the person who locked the document will be able to edit it. Other employees will be able to view and download it.

Read also:

Was this information helpful?
Integration specialist assistance
That's not what I'm looking for
Complicated and incomprehensible text
The information is outdated
It's too short. I need more information
I don't like the way this tool works
Go to Bitrix24
Don't have an account? Create for free