Bitrix24Care

Synchronization problem notification

You may get the following notifications about files synchronization problem when trying to sync different file versions or when several users are working on the same file. Please see notifications description below:

2 File Versions

Notification: 2 File Versions. Unfortunately, we were unable to merge changes in the file. Now you have two copies of the same file. You can merge them manually or leave only the actual version.

This problem occurs when 2 users are trying to upload a new file version from the synchronized folder to Bitrix24.Drive.

For example, you and your colleague are working on the same file. Your colleague has finished editing the file before you and has saved his version. It means a new file version has been uploaded for the file you're working on. And this new version is different from the one you've started editing. As a result, when you try to save your file, you'll get this notification.

To avoid the situation when one of the file editions is lost, the system will suggest making a file copy instead of substituting the file. You will be able either to merge them manually later or leave only one of the versions.

File Locked

File Locked. Cannot update the file on your computer because it is locked by program "____". Please try again later, or close program "____" and run it again.

This problem occurs when 2 users are working on the same Excel sheet located in a synchronized folder.

For example, you and your colleague are working on the same Excel sheet. Your colleague has finished working before you and saved his/her version. In this case, you'll get this notification.

To avoid this situation, use the file lock option when you start working on Excel. If you have already faced this problem, please back up your excel file changes to the alternative file and save it. Further, you can decide which version to keep - in case the one saved as a separate file, use the upload new version option.

Why is a deleted/renamed file recovered?

Recovering deleted files on the portal may be due to the fact that at the time it was deleted or renamed, not all users were online. Later, when these users turn on the computer, the file is recovered from their PC.

IT can also happen if a full synchronization was running on the desktop application side.

If all users synchronize Drive all the time, this problem will not occur. Therefore, in order to delete a file, all users need to synchronize Drive and delete the folder from Bitrix24.

Make sure that all employees have the latest version of the Bitrix24 Desktop application installed.
Was this information helpful?
Optional:
Article feedback
Could you please tell us why:
Article feedback
Integration specialist assistance
Go to Bitrix24
Don't have an account? Create for free