Main page

Bitrix24Care

Document collaboration

Rating:
In Bitrix24 several users can edit the same file simultaneously. This option is available for Company Drive files & Workgroup files.
Important: Settings for working with documents should be configured as In The Cloud.
Bitrix24 account users may have different access to the file you need to collaborate together on. In this case the user with Full Access (e.g. file owner) can use Access Permissions option in the file menu to share this file with other users. 

When file is opened in the cloud & you are working on it at the same time as other people, the editors names will be shown next to the line they're editing at the moment. The editors names will be taken from the integrated online service that the user has chosen to edit the file - Google Docs or MS Office Online. For example, the pink Anonymous Liger below shows the colleague who is working on the document together with you. 



In case you don't want to allow several users to edit the same file, you can enable Allow Document Locking option under Settings > Account Settings. After option is allowed by main account settings, you can apply it to selected files:



In case the file owner has locked the document for editing, the system will work 2 different ways depending if you have been given access to the file or have been shared with (file connected to your My Drive).

Locked Document Collaboration for files you have been given Access to

In case the file owner has given you access to the file via Access Permissions option



 you won't see the file in your My Drive & will need to go to the owner's Profile Page > Drive to find the file. It will be shown with Locked icon:



The document lock will not allow you to edit the file in this case (edit option shown deactivated), only view:


Locked Document Collaboration for files you have been Shared with

In case the file owner has shared the file with you via Sharing option



you will find the file in your My Drive. It will be shown with Shared File icon:



Since the file belong to owner Drive & to your Drive as well, you will be able to open it for editing, the only difference is that you won't be able to save your version to the owner's file since the owner has locked it. A new file will be created instead inside your own Drive & will end up inside automatically created Stored folder. The system will notify you about it:


Unlock files for editing

After the modifications to the file has been made, you can unlock the file for further editing. The file versions will be available form Revision History section where you can see who & when has edited the file &, most important, restore previous versions of files. 


This helped Thanks :) This didn't help Sorry :(
Could you please tell us why:
It's not what I'm looking for
It's too complicated

Did not find an answer to your question?

Send your question to the Bitrix24Care team